Previous laureates:

1996: Charles Bennett, Carl Helstrom, Alexander Holevo, Horace Yuen
1998: Jeffrey Kimble, Peter Shor
2000: Paul Benioff, Christopher Monroe, David Wineland
2002: David Deutsch, Serge Haroche, Benjamin Schumacher
2004: Richard Jozsa, Prem Kumar
2006: Ignacio Cirac, Philippe Grangier, William Wootters, Peter Zoller
2008: Jeffrey Shapiro, Akira Furusawa, Anton Zeilinger
2010: Gerard Milburn, Masanao Ozawa, Christopher Fuchs, Alexander Lvovsky
2012: Jian-Wei Pan, Seth Lloyd
2014: Nicolas Gisin, Reinhard Werner
2016: Rainer Blatt, Artur Ekert


If you would like to nominate someone for the 2018 Quantum Communication Award, please see the call for nominations pdf here. The deadline is 12 Midnight UTC on Friday, December 1 2017.

Nomination Components

The sponsor shall provide the following:

  • The nominee’s name, institution, and contact information
  • A suggested citation (usually citations do not include the person’s name, and start with “For...”. Limit the citation to 300 characters or less, including spaces)
  • A supporting paragraph (expand on the citation and indicate the originality and significance of the contributions cited in 2500 characters or less including spaces)
  • The sponsor’s recommendation letter
  • The nominee's CV including the nominee's academic and employment history, professional honors, principal publications list, and other contributions to physics
  • Up to two additional letters of support (optional)



QCMC 2018 Louisiana State University